These days, more and more people are turning to self-destructing messaging apps as a way of communicating on a variety of topics. These include messages about classified military operations, sensitive personal conversations, and even for sending out offensive or inappropriate messages to strangers.
Here are the differences between self-destructing messages and regular messages:
The time for self-destruction is preset
With regular messaging apps, the time for self-destruction can range from a few hours to a few months.
Self-destructing messages, on the other hand, have a preset lifespan. This may be between one and seven seconds or one and 12 minutes. This is possible when you know how to send a self destructing text message.
Messages are deleted immediately after they are read
With regular messaging apps, messages remain online even if they are deleted by their recipients at any given time.
Self-destructing messages, on the other hand, are deleted immediately after they are read by their recipients.
Sealed with a time stamp
A self-destructing message is typically sealed with a time stamp to make it clear when it was sent and received by the recipient. This is especially useful when there is a need to confirm the veracity of the sender’s identity.
Messages can be read only by the sender
With regular messaging apps, messages can be read only by the sender.
Self-destructing messages are typically encrypted with a code generated based on the recipient’s mobile number, which makes it impossible to read by anyone except the intended recipient. There is no way to undo this encryption and give full access to the message even if someone wants to.
Self-destruction happens automatically
With regular messaging apps, recipients can receive an auto-response message that alerts them that the recipient has sent a self-destructing message. Some apps even give recipients the option to have their messages deleted right after they read it or have it deleted on their next check-out.
Self-destructing messages are not displayed like regular messages and therefore don’t get noticed by the recipient. Therefore, it is impossible for them to know if such a message has been sent.